Applying for your marriage licence can begin online by filling in the required form for whatever state you will be getting married in. You will need my address, as they will want to know who your Officiant is, as I will then be responsible for filing your license. My mailing address is: Rebecca Nagy 1331 Watson Mills St, NW Concord, NC 28027
Please bring your marriage license to the rehearsal or the ceremony. Two witnesses will sign the marriage license immediately after the ceremony. I will mail the signed originals to the appropriate office within the required 10 days via certified mail.
I am a seminary graduate and duly ordained by a physical church (Not through the internet - which is NOT legal in the states of NC or Virginia). I graduated from Sancta Sophia Seminary and my ordination is through the International Council of Community Churches, so I am authorized to perform ceremonies throughout the United States and Internationally.
North Carolina Marriage License Requirements (scroll down for South Carolina) Apply for your marriage license at the NC Register of Deeds office, any county is fine, as long as its in NC.
The license will be issued immediately and will be valid for up to 60 days. There is no state residency requirement and no blood tests are needed. Both applicants should appear at the Register of Deeds office and must be at least 18 years old to be legally married.
Details may vary by county, so check with your local office before visiting. See list below. Plan to arrive well before closing to allow enough time for marriage license processing, which might be 1-2 hours. You may also be able to apply online, so be sure and check with the office you plan on using. Items you will need to bring
Social Security number (provide proof with a W-2 form, payroll stub or statement from the Social Security office)
Photo ID showing date of birth such as: driver’s license, state ID card, passport or military ID.
If age 18-21, also bring your Certified Birth Certificate
$60 license fee, depends on the county
If you’ve been previously married… If you’ve been previously married, you’ll need to provide the date of the divorce and possibly a certified copy of the divorce decree. Check with your local office. You are responsible for delivering the license to your officiant. They will complete the bottom portion of both copies and return it to the Register of Deeds within 10 days.
**To get a copy of your marriage license, complete a copy request form, which will cost $10 for each certified copy you order. This form will come with your marriage license packet or you may find it on your local Register of Deeds website. Register of Deeds Offices in the Charlotte area
How to Obtain a Marriage License in South Carolina Bride and groom must appear together and file a written application. (The Application cannot be picked up) This application contains the following information: Both persons seeking the contract of matrimony are legally entitled to marry together with the full name of the persons, their ages and places of residence. This is a sworn statement that must be signed by both contracting parties and notarized in the office of the Probate Judge in which the license is to be issued.
There is a twenty-four (24) hour waiting period after the application is made before the license can be picked up and the parties can be married. Applicants eighteen (18) years old or older DO NOT NEED PARENTAL CONSENT. Applicants 18 years or older must present one piece of identification. Identification may be one of the following:
A valid Driver’s License
Original birth certificate or certified copy of the birth certificate
A valid SC Identification Card issued by the SC Highway Department
Current Military Identification Card
A current passport
A Social Security card is required for EACH applicant.
WITH PARENTAL CONSENT, applicants must be at least sixteen (16) years old to be eligible to receive a marriage license. Any applicant under the age of eighteen (18) years old must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of the long form thereof, which becomes part of the permanent record of the application. The parent or legal guardian of the minor applicant must appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage.